“A lot of unexpected directions and change ups. Very nice! I want to say this is my new favorite artist.” —NPR Music’s Robin Hilton on “Horse Comanche”

“Stokes employs an old sample machine, a choir, and a really catchy hook, to frame his insightful lyrics on selfless love.” —UTNE Reader on “Mother Maple”

“…maintains his mastery for contagious worldly rhythms along with a fervent live energy, that mirrors his flair as an honest to goodness solo artist.” —Glide Magazine on “I Want You Like A Seatbelt”

Chadwick Stokes’ new album The Horse Comanche is out now on Ruff Shod Records/ Thirty Tigers (purchase now at iTunes). Already receiving widespread critical praise, the album’s title track was recently featured in NPR Music’s “All Songs Considered” podcast. Of the song, Bob Boilen asserts, “…this song really captured me...if I had heard this and the sound quality wasn’t quite as extraordinary as it was. And you told me it came out about six months before Abbey Road. I might have believed you.” Additionally the Boston Herald declares, “Songwriters tend to level off young. Paul McCartney, Bob Dylan and Stevie Nicks didn’t write better songs at 40 than they did at 30. The rule doesn’t apply to Chadwick Stokes…Stokes delivers his most dynamic, most personal, flat-out best set ever (and his past work wasn’t shabby)…the LP ranges from hushed, hymnlike ballads to aggressive, rage-against-the-ruling-class rock.”

In celebration of the release, a new studio documentary, which features exclusive behind-the-scenes footage from the making of the album, can now be viewed here.

Later this month, Stokes will embark on a series of special shows. See below for complete details. Of his recent performance at Boston’s House of Blues, The Daily Free Press praised, “…his playful stage banter and lively music captured the audience’s attention and had them fully engaged.”

Recorded at Chicago’s Shirk Studios and L.A.’s House of Blues studio, the 10-track album was co-produced by Sam Beam of Iron and Wine, Brian Deck (Gomez, Josh Ritter) and Noah Georgeson (Joanna Newsom, Devendra Banhart). Also featured on the album are special guests Lucius on the song “New Haven.” Of the new album, Stokes comments, “We started recording the album this past January in Chicago during the Polar Vortex.  I couldn't believe that everyone showed up that first day—school had been canceled, restaurants were closed and cars were abandoned in the middle of the street (my van included). As Sam (Beam) stepped inside and warmed up, I remember Brian Deck saying, ‘I got a good feeling about this cold. Nothing of any worth was ever made easily.’”

Since forming his first band with two friends, Stokes has performed to audiences worldwide including multiple sold-out shows at Madison Square Garden and TD Garden as well as a special reunion performance at Boston’s Hatch Shell that drew over 120,000 fans. Stokes is also a co-founder of Calling All Crows, a non-profit dedicated to bringing bands and fans together to create change through hands-on activism and service. To date, Calling All Crows has raised over $550,000 and invested more than 30,000 hours of service in local communities across North America and Europe.

For more information, please contact Asha Goodman 615.320.7753, Jake Lanier 615.320.7753 or Carla Sacks 212.741.1000 at Sacks & Co.

1. Pine Needle Tea
2. Mother Maple
3. Prison Blue Eyes
4. I Want You Like A Seatbelt
5. Our Lives Our Time
6. Horse Comanche
7. Hazy Maze
8. Dead Badger
9. New Haven feat. Lucius
10. Walter (First Hello)


February 24 /// Providence, RI /// The Met
February 25 /// Portland, ME /// Port City
February 26 /// Burlington, VT /// Higher Ground
February 27 /// Rochester, NY /// Water Street
March 1 /// Cleveland, OH /// Beachland Ballroom
March 3 /// Columbus, OH /// The Basement
March 4 /// Newport, KY /// 20th Century Theatre
March 5 /// Nashville, TN /// 3rd & Lindsley
March 6 /// Atlanta, GA /// Vinyl
March 7 /// Carrboro, NC /// Cat’s Cradle