Slowmotionary, the debut album from acclaimed musician and songwriter Ethan Gruska, will be released March 3 on Sire Records and is now available for pre-order.

In advance of the release, the lead album track, “Reoccurring Dream,” is available today at all digital platforms. Listen HERE. Already receiving advance acclaim, The Wild Honey Pie asserts, “There’s a certain closeness to Ethan Gruska’s newest song, ‘Reoccurring Dream.’ The guitar work and vocal delivery feel effortless—more an intimate, earnest performance than something overthought and immaculately produced. That’s not to say that the song itself isn’t beautifully constructed and recorded. It just feels more natural, with a certain texture that only comes when a recording manages to truly capture a track’s underlying sentiment.”

Produced by Tony Berg (Andrew Bird, Phoebe Bridgers, Aimee Mann, etc.), Slowmotionary includes 12 original songs and was mixed by Bob Clearmountain and mastered by Bob Ludwig. In addition to Ethan on various instruments (piano, guitar and drums to name a few), the album features Blake Mills (Andrew Bird, Alabama Shakes) on guitar, Rob Moose (Sufjan Stevens, Bon Iver, etc.) on strings and violin, Gabe Noel (Joseph, Pete Yorn) on cello and bass and Ethan’s sister, Barbara Gruska (The Belle Brigade, Jenny Lewis), on percussion.

“What I hope is that people can sense the vulnerability in the writing,” says Gruska of the album. “I didn’t want perfect. I wanted true. I wanted honest. I didn’t want to hide behind anything. That’s why it’s produced and arranged the way it is. It’s very barren at certain moments. These songs slow down time for me, which is why I called it Slowmotionary. I needed to put myself out there musically and lyrically.”

Gruska will join acclaimed U.K. artist Frances for a special performance at The Troubadour on Wednesday, March 29. Tickets are now on-sale. Additional tour dates to be announced soon.

In addition to his solo work, Gruska co-produced Phoebe Bridgers’ new album, Smoke Signals. He is based in Los Angeles, CA.

For more information, please contact please contact Asha Goodman 615.320.7753, Amy Lipsky 615.320.7753 or Carla Sacks 212.741.1000 at Sacks & Co.


1. The Valley
2. Me Who Wasn’t Trying
3. Reoccurring Dream
4. Short Film
5. Rather Be
6. Crowded City Street
7. Grand Lies
8. Neighbors
9. What Are You Thinking Of?
10. Time Is The Healer
11. The Egotist
12. Illuminate