“It’s the perfect record for late-night parties or all-day drives through the desert.” —Rolling Stone Country

“…The Drifter is marked by diversity, from the jazzy opening track ‘The Devil Beats His Wife’ to the punky fury of ‘Fit To Be Tied’ with Escovedo, the lush, string-laded ‘From the Dust’ and the smoky ‘Nina’ with Edmonson.” —Billboard

The Drifter, diverse, wonderful, rich.” —The Austin Chronicle

The Drifter easily makes the short list of Austin’s best records this year.” —The Austin American Statesman

“Mike Flanigin has been performing in Austin for two decades, making close friends and frequent collaborators of some of the region’s rising stars and most renowned musicians…years of hard work and good friendships have culminated in a 10-song LP.” —Paste Magazine

[Of One Little Heart featuring Kat Edmonson] “Even though it’s only two minutes and 10 seconds long, the song, featuring Edmonson’s vocals, packs a lot of emotion into a short amount of time” —The Boot

Mike Flanigin’s new album The Drifter is out now. In celebration of the album’s release, Flanigin will perform at the Paramount Theatre in Austin on September 6. Tickets for the star-studded event—featuring Billy Gibbons, Kat Edmonson, The Relatives and special guests—are on sale now. See HERE for more information.

Last week, Flanigin sat down for a chat with NPR’s Scott Simon on Weekend Edition Saturday. Listen to their conversation HERE. Rolling Stone Country has also stepped forward in support of the album—including it in their “30 Great Country Albums of 2015 You Probably Didn’t Hear” at #17 and calling the album “a tremendous first-ever solo album.” The Drifter also landed at #1 on the iTunes Blues Chart this past weekend.

With the help of engineer Jim Eno (drummer of Spoon), Mike Flanigin is excited to be releasing his first solo album. Collaborating with Flanigin on the LP are Gary Clark Jr., Gibbons, Alejandro Escovedo, Jimmie Vaughan, the late Reverend Gean West and Kat Edmonson. Furthermore, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member Clem Burke of Blondie also appears on the release along with legendary jazz musician Bob Malach (Stevie Wonder, Barbara Streisand) playing horns and Stephen Barber (Keith Richards, Willie Nelson) composing strings and horn arrangements.

“These artists are all personal heroes of mine,” says Flanigin, “I wrote the songs with each of them in mind to perform them. Luckily, they are all personal friends too.” The album was created in six different studios and throughout four states, which included a stop at Avatar Studios in New York for mixing. Grammy-Award winner Garvin Lurssen (T-Bone Burnett, Eric Clapton and Robert Plant & Alison Krauss) mastered the album.

“I worked at a pawnshop growing up, so I was around instruments, but I didn’t know anyone who was a musician really, I certainly wasn’t” Flanigin explains, “I didn’t step on a stage until I was 25.” Flanigin’s first gig was at a Holiday Inn in Dallas. In the years that followed, he toured with The Red Devils, played in the famous Antone’s house band in Austin and did an eight-year residency at The Continental Club Gallery playing organ. During this residency, Flanigin met and began to play with Gibbons and Vaughan and later went on to play as a featured guest with ZZ Top on their Live At Montreux 2013 DVD, filmed at the Montreux Jazz Festival. “When I was a kid, the first concert I ever saw was ZZ Top and The Fabulous Thunderbirds (Jimmie Vaughan’s band) at The Cotton Bowl,” says Flanigin, “I never thought I’d meet those guys, much less play and record with them.” “Eric Clapton saw me once and told me he liked the way I played. That kind of stuff never entered my mind when I was working at the pawnshop.”

Flanigin later played with Vaughan at The Eric Clapton Crossroads Festival in 2013, which was recorded and released on DVD. “To to be honest, I still can’t believe all the things that have happened to me,” says Flanigin of his journey. “I’m the last guy I would have guessed would become a musician. It all just kind of happened somehow. “

For more information, please contact Samantha Tillman or Carla Sacks at Sacks & Co., 212.741.1000.

1. The Devil Beats His Wife
2. Fit to be Tied ft. Alejandro Escovedo
3. The Drifter ft. Billy Gibbons
4. All Nite Long ft. Jimmie Vaughan
5. From the Dust
6. Nina ft. Kat Edmonson
7. Stop the World ft. Gary Clark Jr.
8. Tryin’ to Make My Way Back Home ft. Reverend Gean West
9. One Little Heart ft. Kat Edmonson
10. This Life