“Raised in Texas, seasoned in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Germany, Chao developed a polyglot palette as hungry for tejano and norteño as it is Reich and Glass and Beyoncé and Autre Ne Veut. The dude has range.” —FLOOD

“waltzy and lushly orchestrated…” —UTNE Reader

“All We Will Become is filled with pop anthems and the correlating triumphant choruses that come with them…A unique sound while still fitting nicely into modern pop’s grasp. It sounds like the musical equivalence of youth and the accompanying awe at the world.” —PopMatters

“An album of astonishing musical clarity that sounds more
transcendent than sad.” —AllMusic, Editors’ Choice

—the multi-lingual, experimental pop band from New York City—debut a new video via Mxdwn. Watch the video for “Optical Illusion of the Hearthere.

The track is taken from All We Will Become, the highly anticipated second album from Misha—the project of multi-instrumentalist and songwriter J Chao with Australian vocalist Ronit Granot and Amy Vachal. All We Will Become is out now on TOMLAB—the label known for introducing The Books, Patrick Wolf, Owen Pallett and more.”  

All We Will Become, the first new music from Misha in eight years, is a follow-up to the band’s acclaimed Teardrop Sweetheart and finds Misha emerging from their hiatus with a bolder expression of the pop sensibilities introduced on their debut while incorporating influences as diverse and specific as New Orleans second line and Texas drum corps.

Written in the wake of his breakup with his partner and former bandmate, All We Will Become deals with Buddhist themes of reincarnation and renewal. “For me, the songs on All We Will Become are about the many ways love appears in our lives—from the heady rush to bittersweetness of endings—that cuts across culture. And above all, a celebration of the endless possibilities all around us,” says Chao.

Chao wrote and performed nearly all of the music on the album, with additional contributions from vocalists Granot and Vachal, as well as members of the Long Winters and Lee Field & The Expressions. All We Will Become was mixed by James Clarke, Jr. of Mirrorball Entertainment (Autre Ne Vuet) and mastered by James Krausse (Beyoncé, Nick Jonas).

Chao was born in Taiwan and raised between Hong Kong, Louisiana and Texas, playing in myriad bands along the way. Misha was founded with his former romantic and creative partner, and together they recorded and released Teardrop Sweetheart—which garnered notice and acclaim from Stereogum, Pitchfork, XLR8R, Teen Vogue, MTV and more—before splitting thereafter.

For more information, please contact Reid Kutrow, Krista Williams or Carla Sacks at Sacks & Co., 212.741.1000.


1. This is How it Must Begin
2. You
3. We’re Gonna Have it Out (Modern Love)
4. Limelight
5. Optical Illusion of the Heart
6. Elater
7. Nightshades
8. In Reverse
9. Blood Is Hard Enough
10. Everywhere and Everything
11. Lion Bark (Luminous)
12. Chartres