Exchange, the debut album from Nico Segal’s The JuJu Exchange, out today on vinyl

Very special, limited release in partnership with Vinyl Me, Please

To play Washington, D.C. September 17, New York City September 19

Exchange, the debut album from Nico Segal’s The JuJu Exchange is out today on vinyl via a very special, limited release in partnership with record subscription service Vinyl Me, Please. The Vinyl Me, Please deluxe edition is limited to 1,000, hand numbered copies of the album on translucent blue vinyl with a spot gloss embossed gatefold jacket.

Additionally, the band will make their New York City live debut next Tuesday, September 19 at Le Poisson Rouge in addition to a preview show Sunday, September 17 at Washington, D.C.’s Songbyrd. Grace Weber will support on both dates. Visit for more information.

The JuJu Exchange is the new boundary-breaking jazz band from Segal, the 24-year-old trumpeter f.k.a. Donnie Trumpet and collaborator of Chance The Rapper, Kanye West, J. Cole, Vic Mensa and many more.

The JuJu Exchange is Segal’s new project in collaboration with fellow Chicagoans and childhood friends jazz pianist Julian Reid and his brother, drummer Everett Reid, as well as bassist and Segal’s Kids These Days bandmate Lane Beckstrom.

Segal’s storied and prolific career began in 2009 with the formation, alongside Beckstrom, of Kids These Days with Mensa and other Chicago musicians. The band’s debut album, Traphouse Rock, was produced by Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy and released in 2012 before the band ultimately split in 2013. Soon after, Segal released the solo Donnie Trumpet EP.

Segal is also a founding member of The Social Experiment along with friend and collaborator Chance The Rapper, Peter Cottontale, Greg “Stix” Landfair and Nate Fox. While writing and recording his project Surf, Segal decided to recruit the band and share top billing. Surf, the first-ever free download on iTunes, was released in 2015 to universal critical acclaim and features artists including Quavo, Big Sean, Erykah Badu, Kyle, Busta Rhymes and more. To date, the album has more than 15 million downloads and 180 million streams.

In 2016, Julian Reid and Segal, former Merit School of Music and Whitney M. Young High School classmates, started reminiscing about the music they made together at late night jams in high school and decided to start a project together. A few weeks later, they were back in the studio and instantly fell into a groove. The two reached out to Beckstrom and Julian’s brother Everett, also Merit alumni, to bring additional layers of musicality and the skills needed to complete the band. 

Drawing from hip-hop, jazz, classical and pop music—with inspirations including Kenny Garrett, Miles Davis' Second Great Quintet and Stevie Wonder—the four began to experiment with loose-limbed jam sessions, figuring out how they fit together musically after time apart. Working with Segal and Fox behind the boards, they quickly found magic, and Exchange came together in less than two weeks.

Exchange reflects the experimental spirit of these sessions as well as the foursome’s genre-blending approach. Each band member shines individually on the album, Reids’ keys and drums, Beckstrom’s bass and Segal’s trumpet stepping in and out of the spotlight seamlessly. Similarly, elements of hip hop, R&B, pop and more are woven throughout the jazz framework the band lays down.

Vinyl Me, Please is the world’s best damn record club. Vinyl Me, Please curates and presses essential albums to create limited-edition, collectible packages complete with cocktail recipes, original artwork, inserts and more. Learn more at or follow along on socials at @VinylMePlease.

Exchange is receiving early critical praise:

Exchange re-creates the atmosphere of a loose jam session through the lens of a meticulously produced hip-hop program. The finished product is awashin good vibes, maintaining a coherent soundscape even as tracks vary in their proximity to pop and mainstream jazz…Segal and crew carry the tune toward thrilling destinations.” —Downbeat

“Seven mostly instrumental songs that still slap with pure exuberance.” —Noisey

Exchange…is aptly-named, the result of inter-disciplinary collaboration that plays on the connectedness of jazz in the same manner it complements hip-hop’s collaborative free-flowing nature. The result is a sort of new standard from which colleagues and contemporaries alike can mine in an attempt to propel music across several genres simultaneously in the future.” —Billboard

“The JuJu Exchange is the next step in taking jazz agnostic fans from the confines of hearing the genre as part of a rap or pop song to experiencing a purer interpretation of the art form that still feels distinctly built for 2017. All four members…are prodigious talents, but the melodies, improvisation, and creative flourishes on their debut, Exchange, are so skillful and ebullient that the record is a perfect guide into the genre for the curious yet uninitiated.” —Popmatters

For more information, please contact Reid Kutrow or Carla Sacks 212.741.1000 at Sacks & Co.


1. Morning Of
2. The Exchange
3. We Good
4. The Lane
5. Glide
6. The Circuit
7. Patients


September 17 /// Washington, D.C. /// Songbyrd
September 19 /// New York, NY /// Le Poisson Rouge