CAUTIOUS CLAY’S DEBUT ALBUM DEADPAN LOVE OUT TODAY

TOURING NORTH AMERICA AND EUROPE IN 2022

“intricate love songs that dig into the nuances of love and relationships.”—NYLON

“[Cautious Clay’s] dynamic songwriting and R&B-tinged indie-pop have become staples of the multi-hyphenate’s unique sound, making him one of the most sought-after collaborators around.”—Paste

Deadpan Love, the long-awaited debut album from celebrated singer, songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Cautious Clay, is out today independently via The Orchard. Stream it here and watch the visualizer for single “Shook” here. The album follows acclaimed singles “Strange Love” featuring rising Chicago rapper SABA, “Wildfire,” “Karma & Friends,” “Roots,” “Dying In The Subtlety,” and “Agreeable.”

“‘Deadpan Love’ is something that I have inside me; the way I cope with the worst of what the world has to offer,” says Cautious. “So much of life and relationships are spent in gray areas—we mistreat the people we love and we’re friendly with the people we hate. This is an album about those complexities in friendship, investigating toxic behavior and self-worth.”

With his live return slated for this summer’s Lollapalooza, Cautious Clay will embark on the Karma & Friends Tour of North America and Europe in 2022 with dates in New York, Los Angeles, London, Paris, Barcelona and more. Tickets are on sale today here.

Deadpan Love wraps influences from R&B, hip hop and indie pop in Cautious’ trademark sophisticated songwriting and jazz- and blues-inflected instrumentation. Cautious has collaborated with a host of notable co-writers for the album including Tobias Jesso Jr. (Adele, HAIM), Jim-E Stack (Caroline Polachek, Empress Of), Daniel Nigro (Olivia Rodrigo, FINNEAS), Jesse Shatkin (Sia, Kelly Clarkson), Ammar Malik (Maroon 5, Halsey) and Sir Nolan (Shawn Mendes, Selena Gomez).

Since the release of his breakout debut single “Cold War” three years ago, 28-year-old Cautious Clay has been on a whirlwind ride. He’s released three EPs—Table of Context, RESONANCE, and debut Blood Type—that have earned critical praise from The New York Times, The New Yorker, NPR, TIME, Complex and many more. His songs have soundtracked key scenes in films like Olivia Wilde’s Booksmart and TV shows like Issa Rae’s “Insecure” and Selena Gomez’s “13 Reasons Why.” He was enlisted personally by FINNEAS for a remix of Billie Eilish’s breakout “Ocean Eyes,” his music has been sampled by Taylor Swift (Lover), and he’s written songs with John Legend and John Mayer. His recent single “Cheesin’” saw him link up with a who’s-who of next generation talent—Claud, Remi Wolf, Still Woozy, Sophie Meiers, Melanie Faye and HXNS—to raise money for the COVID-19 Relief Fund. Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, Cautious Clay currently resides in Brooklyn, New York.

For more information, please contact Reid Kutrow or Carla Sacks at Sacks & Co., 212.741.1000.

Or Michael Tomczak at The Orchard.


CAUTIOUS CLAY—DEADPAN LOVE

1. High Risk Travel
2. Shook
3. Karma & Friends
4. Strange Love (feat. Saba)
5. Box of Bones
6. Agreeable
7. Dying In The Subtlety
8. Why Is Your Clay So Cautious?
9. Artificial Irrelevance
10. Whoa
11. Wildfire
12. Spinner
13. Roots
14. Bump Stock

CAUTIOUS CLAY LIVE
Wed February 9
/// Toronto, ON /// Axis Club
Sun February 13 /// Minneapolis, MN /// Fine Line
Wed February 16 /// Kansas City, MO /// Riot Room
Sat February 19 /// Denver, CO /// Bluebird Theater
Sun February 20 /// Salt Lake City, UT /// Urban Lounge
Thu February 24 /// Vancouver, BC /// Hollywood Theatre
Fri February 25 /// Portland, OR /// Roseland Theater
Sat February 26 /// Seattle, WA /// Showbox
Tue March 1 /// San Francisco, CA /// Fillmore
Fri March 4 /// Los Angeles, CA /// Fonda Theatre
Thu March 10 /// Dallas, TX /// Trees
Fri March 11 /// Austin, TX /// Scoot Inn
Sat March 12 /// Houston, TX /// Secret Group
Tue March 15 /// Atlanta, GA /// Terminal West
Fri March 18 /// Boston, MA /// Royale
Sat March 19 /// New York, NY /// Brooklyn Steel
Wed, May 25 /// Dublin /// Whelan’s
Fri, May 27 /// London /// Heaven
Sat, May 28 /// Manchester /// Deaf Institute
Mon, May 30 /// Bristol /// Thekla
Wed, June 1 /// Amsterdam /// Paradiso Noord
Friday, June 3 /// Berlin /// Privatclub
Sun, Jun 5 /// Copenhagen /// Vega Small Hall
Tue, June 7 /// Oslo /// John Dee
Wed, June 8 /// Stockholm /// Fasching
Fri, June 10 /// Barcelona /// Primavera Sound
Sun, June 12 /// Paris /// Boule Noire

CAUTIOUS CLAY / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook / Spotify / YouTube