Acclaimed singer, songwriter and musician Elizabeth Cook’s anticipated new album, Aftermath, is out now on Agent Love Records/Thirty Tigers. Stream/purchase HERE. Released to widespread acclaim, the album is the subject of an in-depth profile today at Rolling Stone, who proclaims, “Elizabeth Cook Is as Country as Cornbread. On Her New Album, She Becomes a Rock Star.” Read the full article here.

Produced by Butch Walker (Green Day, Weezer, Taylor Swift), Aftermath is an album about survival and resilience. The twelve songs—all written by Cook—address life’s most fundamental and difficult subjects including heartbreak, addiction, death and resurrection. Created following a period of significant loss and pain, the album chronicles Cook’s journey through a personal hell and how she made her way back.

Recent critical acclaim for Aftermath:

“Genius at craft…an all-around artist, a great southern rocker, a great songwriter, a great person.”—NPR Music

“Americana firebrand makes a grand rock & roll record worthy of her Bowie jumpsuits.” ★★★★ —Rolling Stone

“finds her exuding a decided clarity and confidence…it’s clear that Cook also has the desire and determination to express herself fully and freely. Aftermath is obviously one more way for her to get to that goal.” ★★★★ —American Songwriter

“yet another extraordinary album by a most extraordinary artist who just keeps breaking through boundaries…every one of Aftermath‘s 12 songs are stellar”—No Depression

“a damn fine record whose merits should stand the test of time” 8/10—PopMatters

“a rich, elusive collection of songs…arguably Cook’s finest work to date”—Nashville Scene

“finds her in a state of unprecedented freedom…lead single ‘Perfect Girls of Pop’ infers a sound that’s equal parts country and college rock.”—Newsweek

“a bold change of pace for the Americana maven. Ascending into the roots-pop stratosphere, she’s reborn from personal tragedy for an exhilarating set of creative-freedom chasing, just for the hell of it.”—Nashville Lifestyles

“sharp and witty”—XPN’s The Key

“a big statement, both professionally and personally, of absolute independence”—Americana Highways

Of the album, Cook reflects, “This is the first time that I’ve been completely unchained, really. I wasn’t in an oppressive relationship, I wasn’t trying to meet some sort of label’s expectation, I wasn’t trying to meet some sort of market expectations. And that’s the way I wanna do it, or not at all.” 

Recorded at Walker’s Ruby Red Studios in Santa Monica, CA, Aftermath also features Steve Duerst (bass), Herschel Van Dyke (drums), Aaron Embry (keyboards), Andrew Leahey (guitar) and Whit Wright (pedal steel, dobro).

Aftermath is Cook’s seventh full-length release and first since 2016’s Exodus of Venus. Of the album, Rolling Stone declares, “magnificently entertaining,” while American Songwriter praises, “Cook’s finest, most riveting and intensely personal work.” Additionally, The New York Times calls Cook, “a sharp and surprising country singer,” while NPR Music proclaims, “her self-awareness, hip hard-country delivery, comedic gifts and ability to project magnetic personality—have made her a treasure of the Americana singer-songwriter scene.”

In addition to her acclaimed musical career, Cook is also the host of “Upstream with Elizabeth Cook,” a new fishing and interview show on the Opry’s Circle TV network, and has hosted her regular “Elizabeth Cook’s Apron Strings” show on SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country channel for the past 10 years. An all-time favorite of David Letterman’s, Cook is a cast-member of Adult Swim’s animated series, “Squidbillies” and has performed at the Grand Ole Opry over 400 times since her debut in 2000. Originally from Florida and now based in Nashville, she has toured extensively across the world and collaborated with several iconic artists including Patty Loveless, Buddy Miller, John Prine and Dwight Yoakam.

For more information, please contact Asha Goodman 615.320.7753,
Catherine Snead 615.320.7753 or Carla Sacks 212.741.1000 at Sacks & Co.

1. Bones
2. Perfect Girls of Pop
3. Bad Decisions
4. Daddy, I Got Love For You
5. Bayonette
6. These Days
7. Stanley By God Terry
8. Half Hanged Mary
9. When She Comes
10. Thick Georgia Woman
11. Two Chords And A Lie
12. Mary, The Submissing Years